The EU agreed on sanctions against Russia, China and North Korea for cyber attacks

The Council of the EU on Thursday agreed to the introduction of individual restrictive measures against citizens and organizations of Russia, China and North Korea for cyber attacks that threaten the EU and member States, said in a statement from the EU Council.

The restrictive measures (asset freeze and travel ban in the EU) involve six individuals: four citizens of Russia and two to China and three organizations from Russia, China and North Korea.

"The EU introduces sanctions against cyberattacks. Today, the EU Council decided to introduce restrictive measures against six people and three organizations are responsible for various cyber attacks," reads the statement of the EU Council.

It is reported that the restrictive measures introduced, including, for attempting cyberattacks against the OPCW, as well as for cyber attacks using malware WannaCry, NotPetya and Operation of the Cloud Hopper. A week ago was launched written procedure for the approval of such measures. It was reported that these restrictive measures include the freezing of assets and travel ban in the EU.

The government has repeatedly denied accusations from the West in cyber-attacks.

Mode cybermancy EU entered into force in may 2019 and still not used. Under this regime, restrictive measures may include the freezing of assets and bans on travel to EU countries. The imposition of sanctions requires the unanimous approval of all member countries.