Russia was not included in the new list of countries that the EU open border

The EU Council again included in the third updated list of countries with which member States are recommended to opening of external borders, should be published in Thursday statement of the Council.

The European Union has not added any new countries to the list, on the contrary, reduced, eliminating Algeria. So now the recommendations are just 12 (of the original 15) States: Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China, subject to the confirmation of reciprocity in the opening of borders.

In accordance with the recommendations of the European Commission, the lists should be updated every two weeks. However, earlier, some media wrote that, given that in August the EU institutions rest, a new list can be matched only by September.

Approval of the third list was held against the backdrop of rising cases COVID-19 in several European countries, who were forced once again to tighten measures against coronavirus. Initially, the EU countries agreed to open border only with those States that have developed similar or better epidemiological situation.

At the same time, as explained by the RIA Novosti source in the EU, as recommended, the Council should not revise criteria for declaring the country open for travel in the EU, and can only be discussed directly with the list of States.

Criteria, based on the aggregate of which in the EU represent a list, are epidemiological situation in the country, measures to contain the epidemic, as well as "economic and social considerations". Among the epidemiological indicators, the trend appears to stabilize or reduce the number of new infections in preceding 14 days and the average number infected per hundred thousand inhabitants over the past two weeks, which should match or be below the same indicator for the EU as of 15 June 2020 (16 to 20 cases).

The EU Council in late June, agreed on the recommendation regarding the progressive removal of restrictions on the optional trip to the European Union, adopting the list of countries for which the border was open from 1 July. Agreed by the Council of the EU lists are not binding for the member States of the European Union, many countries do not adhere to.