Switzerland joined the EU sanctions against Venezuelan officials

Switzerland joined the EU sanctions against some Venezuelan officials, said in a statement published on the website of the Federal Council (government) of the country.

The decision to expand the list of persons under sanctions was made the day before, and entered into force on 7 July. The list includes, in particular, senior officials of the National Assembly of Venezuela, the Supreme court and the Constituent Assembly.

Earlier on Monday, the EU Council expanded the list of Venezuelan officials, who are subject to restrictive measures "because of their role in actions and decisions, undermining democracy and the rule of law in Venezuela", and added 11 names. Now the list has 36 people. The EU restrictive measures against Venezuela was introduced in November 2017. They include an embargo on arms and a travel ban and assets freeze against a number of Venezuelan officials.

Switzerland first joined the EU sanctions against Venezuela on March 28, 2018.