The EU Council has proposed a number of exceptions for entry from third countries from 1 July

The EU Council has proposed a number of exceptions to come into the Union from third countries not included in the special list of States to which residents can be lifted restrictions on the entry from 1 July, said the EU Council.

The Council on Tuesday agreed on the recommendation regarding the progressive removal of restrictions on the optional trip to the European Union, adopting the list of countries in which borders can start to open from 1 July. It did not include, for example, Russia and the United States. It is recommended to start to remove restrictions for residents of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China, but subject to confirmation of reciprocity in the opening of borders. The people of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents when applying this recommendation, stated in the release.

The recommendation itself is not binding, but States the EU is not without agreeing to remove travel restrictions for residents of those countries which are not included in this special list.

"For countries where they continue to act restriction on travel, the following categories of people should be excluded under limitations: EU citizens and their family members, long term residents of the EU and members of their families, travelers with important function or purposes specified in the recommendations," - said in a release.

The list of countries drawn up on 1 July, it is proposed to revise every two weeks.

"The criteria for determining the third countries for which you want to remove the current restriction on travel include, in particular, the epidemiological situation and measures of deterrence (spread of the novel coronavirus – ed.), including physical distancing, as well as economic and social considerations. They are applied cumulatively," - said the EU Council.

With regard to the epidemiological situation, the third country to get to the list must meet a number of criteria. In particular, the number of new cases COVID-19 in the last 14 days and 100 thousand inhabitants should be close or below the EU average as of June 15, 2020. Reciprocity in the opening of borders must also be taken into consideration.

Recent data on the situation of COVID-19 in Russia and the world presented on the portal stopmanager.of the Russian Federation.