Russia was not included in the list of countries that the EU open border from 1 July

The Council of the EU published a list of States, which recommended to open EU borders from July 1, Russia and the United States were not included.

Remove restrictions proposed for residents of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China on the principle of reciprocity.

The residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be treated as residents of the EU.

Provided that the list will be reviewed every two weeks, both for inclusion and exclusion depending on the epidemiological situation.

Schengen member States agreed on a ban on "unnecessary travel" to the EU for third country nationals in mid-March amid pandemic coronavirus.

They also have limited travelling within the European space. Most of these restrictions removed on 15 June.