The European Union has extended sanctions against Russia

The Council of the European Union extended sanctions against Russia, adopted in 2014, due to events in Ukraine.

The restrictions will be in effect until January 31, 2021.

It is noted that the decision to extend the sanctions adopted after the "last evaluation of the implementation of the Minsk agreements".

The European Union imposed sanctions against some Russian and Crimean politicians and officials on 17 March 2014 against the backdrop of events in Eastern Ukraine and Crimea.

After the referendum on the Peninsula, the EU expanded the sanctions list.

In July 2014, there has passed from the point of sanctions against certain individuals and companies to restrictions against whole sectors of the economy.

Under the EU sanctions are now 175 individuals and 44 organizations.