Russian cosmonauts on ISS take part in the vote on the Constitution

Two Russian cosmonauts working on-Board ISS, Ivan Wagner and Anatoly Ivanishin will take part in the voting on the amendments to the Constitution of the Russian Federation, told RIA Novosti, the commander of the cosmonaut Oleg Kononenko.

Earlier, the Deputy Chairman of the Public chamber of Moscow Alexey Venediktov told journalists that Ivanishin asked to vote electronically. Communication in this case, due to the lack on the Russian segment of the ISS experience will be provided through American satellites and the control Center in Houston.

"In voting will participate not only Ivanishin, but Wagner. Before the flight they picked me to be his confidant," - told Kononenko.

At the same time, he noted that he did not know whether the astronauts to vote the old fashioned way - through Trustee, or, as he told reporters Venediktov, Ivanishin will be able to vote online.

Kononenko reminded that usually in such cases, on the day of voting in the mission control Center came a visiting delegation of the nearest polling station of the town of Korolev (Moscow region), the astronauts were read by the candidates, and then in a closed room each astronaut individually expressed their will to the nominee of the private communication channel. The Trustee has filled out the form and dropped it into the portable ballot box.

A nationwide vote on amendments to the Constitution of the Russian Federation was scheduled for 22 April, but then postponed due to the difficult epidemiological situation in the country. Later, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced that the vote will take place on 1 July.

Now work on the ISS Russian cosmonauts Anatoly Ivanishin and John Wagner, as well as American astronaut Christopher Cassidy, Douglas Hurley and Robert Behnken.