In Yerevan detained 150 people outside the Parliament building

The Armenian police detained on Tuesday over 150 people at the Parliament building of Armenia, which discussed the issue of deprivation of parliamentary immunity of the leader of the opposition faction "prosperous Armenia" Gagik Tsarukyan, reported the representative of the police press-service of Zarzand Gabrielyan.

Among the detained supporters of Tsarukyan, who is President of the national Olympic Committee of Armenia, was the repeated champion of Europe on Greco-Roman wrestling, the winner of the world Championships and Olympic Roman Amoyan. A police spokesman said it was difficult to answer, whether already released the athlete.

The police pulled the power to the Parliament building and the adjacent squares, preventing the rally. Their actions law enforcement officers motivated the ban on mass actions in conditions of emergency imposed because of the pandemic coronavirus, explained in a press-service.

On the fifth of June at a meeting of the political Council of the party Tsarukyan proposed to change the government at 100%. According to him, the main problem is that in the Cabinet there are no experienced people. The Deputy refers to actions of law enforcement authorities as political persecution.

Earlier, the Prosecutor General of Armenia Artur Davtyan has asked Parliament to consent to the criminal prosecution of Tsarukyan, engaging him as a defendant, and an arraignment. The Armenian Prosecutor General's office intends to attract Tsarukyan under article "complicity in bribe voters, violations of the ban on charity during elections or obstructing free expression of will of voters". The Department argued that sane Tsarukyan act was committed in the run-up to parliamentary elections on 2 April 2017. The consequence of suspects policy in creating an organized group to bribe the voters.

The party "prosperous Armenia" political force with a liberal slant - was created by Tsarukian in 2004. The Parliament of the current convocation of the "Prosperous Armenia" belongs to the 25 seats out of 132.